• A
  • A
  • A
Names of 6 ex-judges suggested before HC to supervise Mohun Bagan poll

Kolkata: One of the two feuding groups of Mohun Bagan club on Thursday suggested names of six retired judges before the Calcutta High Court for supervising election to the 129-year-old institution.

File photo

Counsel for Madan Mohan Dutta, who is a club executive member belonging to the group led by general secretary Anjan Mitra, submitted the names before Justice Shekhar Bobby Saraf.

The six retired judges are Susanta Chatterjee, Subhro Kamal Mukherjee, Dilip Seth, Ashok Das Adhikari, Siddhartha Chattopadhyay and Pranab Chattopadhyay.

Justice Saraf yesterday asked the counsel for Dutta to come with the names today.
Also read: SC 'shocked' over huge number of uncontested seats in WB panchayt polls
He asked the other group led by club president Swapan Sadhan Bose to consider the names and come up with its suggestions on Wednesday, when the matter would be heard again.

Mohun Bagan president Swapan Sadhan Bose and general secretary Anjan Mitra had administered the club together but fell apart about a year ago.

The court had also suggested that the two groups sit together and decide on a person to hold the elections at the earliest, preferably by August.

Mahesh Tekriwal, a former executive member from Bose's group, had moved the high court praying for appointment of a special officer for conducting the election at the club.

Dutta opposed the plea and sought its rejection claiming that Mohun Bagan is a private club having its own constitution and that there has been no allegation of any serious mismanagement for the court to interfere.

He claimed that the club executive committee can hold the election by itself.

It was stated before the court that 12 members of the 20-member executive committee including Tekriwal had resigned on April 26.



To read stories offline: Download Eenaduindia app.