• A
  • A
  • A
2019-21 World Test Championship: Key points to note

Hyderabad: To give back Test Cricket its long lost charm, International Cricket Council has come up with new league competition called World Test Championship and the tournament will be contested over two-year cycles.

Representational Image

The Championship will begin after the 2019 World Cup, with the final schedule to be played from June 10 2021.

Here are the important things to know about the World Test Championship:

  • Nine teams will play six series over the new two-year Test championship – three each home and away – with each series having a minimum of two Tests and a maximum of five.
  • Nine of the twelve Full Member countries which will take part in the competition are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.
  • Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Ireland, are the three nations who will not be part of the inaugural World Test Championship.
  • The top two teams will contest a play-off final to determine the Test champions in June 2021.
  • If the final ends in a draw then the team with the most number of points at the end of the league phase will be declared the winner.
  • The venue for the final is yet to be determined but early indications are that it will be at Lord’s.



To read stories offline: Download Eenaduindia app.